Why does Allah not Respond?

Salaam,

I hope everyone is in the best of health and in the state of ever increasing iman. I have heard people say that I make dua and I make dua yet Allah does not respond to my prayers. They get frustrated and then leave dua. They fail to realize that dua is worship, and Allah is the most wise. A man asked Ibrahim ibn Adham “why is it that we make dua, yet Allah does not respond”. The famous ascetic replied in such a beautiful and striking way. He said, ” because you know Allah, yet you do not obey him. And you know the Prophet (saw), but do not follow his  Sunnah. And you know the Quran, but you do not act upon it. And you eat from the blessing of Allah, but you do not express gratitude for it. And you know paradise, yet do not strive for it. And you know the fire of hell, yet do not run away from it. And you know shaytan, but do not fight him, and instead obey him. And you know death, but you do not prepare yourselves for it. And you bury the dead, but do not learn a lesson from it. And you have left your own faults, and instead busy yourself with the faults of others”.

When I read this I had to read it over again because it is so true that we don’t obey Allah any more. The sad and most tragic part is that we only turn to Allah in times of hardship and need and forget about him in the good and happy times. I end with the hadith of the Prophet Muhammad (saw) ” Our lord descends every night, during the last third of it, to the skies of this world, and asks: “who is making dua to me, so that I can respond to him? Who is asking me, so that I can give him? Who is asking my forgivness, so that I can forgive him”? We should never despair in the mercy of Allah as he is looking for excuses to forgive us. All we need to do is be patient and never lose hope in our Rabb. The heart needs to beat…and so we stay alive.

2 Responses to “Why does Allah not Respond?”

  1. This issue is common among the average person, I am glad you pointed it out. I think when one cannot see measurable results in dua its hard to stay motivated, but like you said, it is also a form of worship. I speak for myself only but I have noticed that when the “low iman” period settles in, dua is the first thing to be shortened if not abandoned. Dua is the ultimate recognition of our dependence on Allah and it is our obligation to make it. Thanks ghanz for the insight, it was well-written!

  2. Shakir Rashada Says:

    I was at work when I read this message. it’s been some time since I last checked your blog and this message was one that I needed at the time, as one of the many reminders about the mercy of allah and why it is so important to be in contact with fellow muslims often. I pray that allah continues to guide and protect us all and I pray that he continues to shower us with his mercy in spite of our short commings.

Leave a Reply

