“Oh son of Adam Were you to Call Upon Me”

Salaam, I hope everyone is in the best of health and in the state of increasing iman. Allah says in the Quran, Oh mankind, you are all fuqarah to Allah, but Allah is rich, worthy of all praise (35:15). It is our obligation to reflect on that verse. We are in a state of constant need of the help of our Lord. Nothing can happen without his permission. As we rely upon our Master he Aza wa jal advises us to call upon him for our needs. In a hadith Qudsi related in Sahih Al Muslim, Allah calls us to show our destitution to him, he says,  “O My servants, all of you are hungry (needy) except for those whom I feed, therefore seek food from Me so that I may feed you. O My servants, all of you are naked (need clothes) except for those whom I provide garments, therefore seek clothing from Me so that I should clothe you. O My servants, you sin by night and by day and I am there to pardon your sins, therefore seek forgiveness from Me so that I should grant you pardon

Reading the last part brought much happiness to me because Allah said directly to me and you that he is here to pardon our sins. He says just seek forgiveness so that I can forgive you. Therefore me and you must take advantage of the mercy of Allah and start building a relationship with him, because our place is not in this world, but it is surely in the next…in Jannah, inshallah. Keep this humble slave in your prayers, as I am in much need of them. I leave you with this,  “Allah the Almighty has said: ‘O son of Adam, so long as you call upon Me, and hope in Me, I shall forgive you for what you have done, and I shall not mind. O son of Adam, were your sins to reach the clouds in the sky and were you then to ask forgiveness of Me, I shall forgive you. O son of Adam, were you to come to Me with an earthful of sins and were you then to face Me, without having associated anything with Me, I shall grant you an earthful of pardon.'”  The heart needs to beat…and so we stay alive. wsalaam.

(the video is the shaykh reciting the hadith)

Leave a Reply

