Abu Bakr’s Address to Madinah

I hope everyone is in the best of health and in the state of increasing iman. In light of Barack Hussain Obama’s inagural address, below is the address of Khalifa-tu-Rasulilah (saw), Abu Bakr (rd) after the death of the Prophet Muhammad (saw).  The great companion embodied his wisdom and leadership in just a few words. His words were very strong and gave people the direction that was so bady needed at the time. I hope and pray that we Muslims living in the west can develop the Iman, taqwa, and leadership that Abu Bakr as Siddiq (rd) had. The heart needs to beat…and so we stay alive. Salaam.

 “O People! I have been put in authority over you and I am not the best of you. So if I do the right thing then help me and if I do wrong then put me straight. Truthfulness is a sacred trust and lying is a betrayal. The weak amongst you is strong in my sight. I will surely try to remove his pain and suffering. And the strong amongst you is weak to me I will – Allah willing – realise the right from him fully. When obscene things spread among any nation, calamities generally continued to descend upon them. As long as I obey Allah and His messenger, you should obey me, and if I do not obey Allah and His messenger, then obedience to me is not incumbent upon you”.

One Response to “Abu Bakr’s Address to Madinah”

  1. Imam Salahuddin Says:

    These words of our predecessor Khalifah Abu Bakr (RA) are profound and is what every leader should say and believe when they are put into positions of leadership.

Leave a comment